Kevyn Aucoin Sentual Skin Enhancer

So I purchased the Kevyn Aucoin  Sensual Skin Enhancer in the shade SX06. I was a little worried that the colour might not match me however I took the risk and got it anyways – could easily be put into my kit if it didn’t match me. 

It’s not a new product so I was able to do some research on it and read reviews. I looked at many swatches to determine the shade I could be Pixiwoo had great swatches which helped although I know we are two different skin tones, which is one factor you have to bare in mind when using online references. 


(Swatches have been taken from pixiwoo’s blog)

Everyone pretty much said the same thing that ‘a little goes a long way’ and that ‘it is highly pigmented’ and ‘can cover anything!’ and makeupbymario used it himself on his model on the London Masterclass so I’m guessing it must be good! I’ve wanted to get this product for a while but the price put me off however after attended Mario’s masterclass I had to purchase it if I’m honest. 


When everyone claimed ‘a little goes a long way’ I really did under estimate how far the tiniest amount would go. So I had to give it a try myself to see if all the claims were true, because make up is a very subjective topic, what works for me may not work for someone else. I only touched the peak with the tip of my finger and it covered my undereye and a lot more ! Even then I felt like I could’ve used that amount to cover both side. Nor did I use any colour corrector and my dark circles were no where to be seen. 

It felt extremely hydrating I’d definitely say it has to be set otherwise it will set into creases etc and transfer. The smallest amount covered my dark circles and under eyes and colour correcting was not necessary, which I have to do when using other concealers otherwise the dullness peaks through. 


Pros
•heavy duty 

•alittle goes a long way

•hydrating

•range of shades available covering different undertones

•available at cultbeauty, beauty bay and spacenk. 

•not a area targeted product (can be used all over the face as a base, or to conceal)

•stayed on for over 10 hours and did not budge 

Cons

•expensive

•sets into creases if not set as soon as 

•may be difficult for some to determine the shade they need using online resources as lighting can affect the images also the swatches may not be done on someone of the same skin tone as yourself which needs to be taken into consideration

•the shades to do go up from lightest to darkest in numerical order

My method of application 

I used my ring finger to apply it to my skin to get the lightest application. This is the exact amount I used for one undereye. 


I then dotted the product on my undereye area in a elongated triangle shape and blended with a beauty blender and set with a loose powder. 

Here is the end result. 

I know it’s a little on the pricey side retailing at £38 for 18g but it assure you it will last a very long time. The best part of it personally is that the sentual Skin Enhancer is not specifically targeted to do one job and one job only, it can be used all over the face as a base, it can be used to conceal undereyes, spot conceal or you can even use to highlight and contour. 

Hope you enjoyed this review. 

Lima X 

Leave a Reply

