Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams

I’ve got so many nyx soft matte lip creams I thought it would be a good idea to do a post on them. I wanted them for a while but I couldn’t find them anywhere in London , I was out shopping one day and I caught a glimpse of the Nyx pop up stand in selfridges and of course had to make my way there. At the time there wasn’t many in stock so I quickly went on the Selfridges website and ordered as many as I could. 


I did think that the pop up stand might only be there for a limited time and I wouldn’t be able to get my hands on them later, so I just got as many as I could. Not knowing that in a few months it would start to be sold on boot! 

However I don’t regret it, I love the texture of the lip creams they really are ‘soft matte’. And the range of colours are amazing , there is a colour for everyone ! Some of the colours which I purchased I did worry that it may be abit too light / dark but I wasn’t too worried as I’m always mixing colours to achieve the shade I want. I did find that some were a little streaky like ‘Tokyo’ but nothing a little lip liner can’t sort.


L-R Copenhagen, Monte Carlo, Amsterdam, Addis Ababa, Prague, San Paulo, Ibiza, Antwerp, Milan, Istanbul, Tokyo, Cannes, Abu Dhabi, London, Athens & Stockholm. 

The colours that are missing from my collection are Transylvania, Sydney, Buenos Aires, Morocco, Cairo, Zurich. I purely didn’t not purchase them as I thought that it would not suit me at all. In addition I thought that as ‘Transylvania’ is such a dark colour it may be streaky and it would be most visible so I wasn’t so keen on it. 

My favourite colour I would definitely have to say is ‘Cannes’ , as it is more wearable on a day to day basis, and prefer wearing more natural tones generally unless I’m going somewhere. I always carry it in my bag. It’s not too light so I don’t have a washed out look, which I don’t like at all. 

I am aware that Nyx are coming out with or have already come out with some more colours, which I will be purchasing too. I would like the purchase the colours ‘Dubai’ , ‘Rome’, ‘Madrid’, ‘Budapest’ and ‘Berlin’ (more brown tone lip creams). 


Let me know what you think of them, or if you would like swatches of every colour.

Hope you enjoy reading 

Follow me on IG if you already don’t (@makeupby_lima) 

Lima X 

Leave a Reply

